Expat Tips from Expats

30 Aug

From the fantastic website Expat Yourself are 18 excellent expat tips from veteran expats the author interviewed. The question posed was “what advice would you give to people considering to live overseas.”

Here’s an example of one of many expats offering expat advice:

If you’re thinking about moving overseas, be prepared to be flexible about specific destinations. Personally, I had a situation where I did a lot of research on a city that I thought I would love. After a couple of days of getting there I realized it wasn’t the kind of place I wanted to spend more than a week. Luckily there was a much better option just an hour away. Friends of mine have had similar experiences with different towns or even entire countries. You can increase your chances of loving where you end up if you’re not married to one particular place.” -Corbett Barr, Free Pursuits 

I hadn’t even thought of that! I’m the kind of person that will research something extensively, so it’s helpful to know that your feeling from a place and being flexible with your final destination is just as important as researching.

Read more from the site for expat advice.

2 Responses to “Expat Tips from Expats”

  1. Jeff September 1, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Thanks so much for the kind words! If there’s anything I could do to further inspire your readers to enjoy & experience Mexico, let me know.

    -Jeff

    • expatsinmexico September 6, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

      I will – thanks, Jeff! I look forward to more of your posts and expat tips 🙂

      Natalie

Leave a Reply

